
Restauración de las Cuevas del Conventico en Melilla
Author(s) -
Estudio Vellés Arquitectos
Publication year - 1997
Publication title -
loggia
Language(s) - English
Resource type - Journals
eISSN - 2444-1619
pISSN - 1136-758X
DOI - 10.4995/loggia.1997.5611
Subject(s) - humanities , art
The citadel of Melilla, an example of military architecture that reached its greatest splendour in the 17th century, was declared a Monumental Ensemble in 1953. There are vestiges of underground architecture from the last third of the 18th century which have played an important role as a refuge since then. The restoration of the ruins of Cuevas del Conventico was initiated in 1990, because their state of repair posed a threat to the citadel. The studies, maps and project carried out by the team captained by the architect Javier Vellés display enormous sensitivity and constitute a strong, cultured image that melds in with the Melilla landscape and contributes to its characterization on its 5th Centenary